What’s in my shower?

Hey everyone! Today I’m going to share with you what’s in my shower and the products I use daily to get myself squeaky clean. When it comes to body and hair care, I’m by no means a high maintenance gal so don’t expect too many high end products! When it comes to skincare and makeup, however, I’m a very different person…
IMG_0135

The newest addition to my shower collection is LUSH’s I Love Juicy shampoo ($22, not pictured), which is a fresh fruit shampoo containing tropical fruit extract like pineapple, mango, kiwi fruit and papaya… yum!

It has a nice, jelly texture that lathers up easily when applied to hair. A little goes a long way! The sales assistant said it was good for oily/greasy hair, and since my hair tends to become quite oily at the end of the day, this sounded like the perfect solution for me.

My thoughts? While it does feel extremely moisturising when I work the shampoo into the hair, it does make the ends of my hair quite dry. Not uncomfortably dry though, and it still looks overall quite smooth but I would not recommend this to girls with dry hair to begin with. I usually just rub John Frieda hair serum on the ends which takes care of any dryness.

Lush I love Juicy shampooThe next product which I absolutely love is Soap & Glory’s Breakfast Scrub from Kit Cosmetics (around $13 I think?).

Soap and Glory The Breakfast ScrubHow yummy does the description sound?

“Infused with golden sugar scrub particles and banana, almond and honey extracts, this scrub is super softening and has a delicious new Maple fragrance! Scoop out a handful of scrub, rub it between your palms, then scrub in circles onto damp skin.”

It actually smells exactly like maple syrup and banana, and looks like a tasty smoothie too! I always feel energised and super smooth when I use this exfoliator, which is about once a week. I have used Soap & Glory’s other scrub, the Flake Away Spa Body Polish, which smells gorgeously of peach, but nothing compared to this amazing scrub.

IMG_0161Conditioner is also very important to me, since my long hair gets tangled often. I use only a tiny amount (20 cent coin size) as I don’t want my hair to feel too ‘soft’ as it makes it oily during the day. I like a bit of texture to my mane :-)

This Herbal Essences conditioner could be considered a basic, no frills type of conditioner. It’s not super amazing but does the job, though I much prefer the honey conditioner from Herbal Essences.

IMG_0160Now on to the face products. I bought Philosophy’s purity 3 in 1 cleanser from Sephora in New York on Black Friday for only $10. Such a steal! It has lasted for quite a few months and I use it every day. It’s supposed to melt off your makeup but I still use my Lancome Bi-Facil to remove my eye makeup first, then cleanse my face with this. It is non-irritable and feels nice and creamy on the skin.

IMG_0159After the first cleanse, I go in again with Chanel Mousse Douceur, a rinse off foaming mousse cleanser that contains tulip tree and mallow extract. I like it as it’s so moisturising and doesn’t make my skin feel ‘tight’ after cleansing.

I purchased this at the Dallas airport in TX for around $40 while waiting for a flight.

I also have the Neutrogena Naturals exfoliator I use sometimes on the nose to get rid of blackheads (in the first pic), and for the body I wash with Dermaveen – the ideal body wash for sensitive skin.

Hope you enjoyed this little insight into my shower routine!

xo, Life + Makeup

Leave a Reply

