Sephora Haul: NAKED3, Becca and Tarte

It’s been a long time since I last posted, but here I am again with a fresh new haul from Sephora, courtesy of HopShopGo, a US parcel forwarding service. Sephora, when are you going to listen to your international customers and start offering shipping to Australia??

Anyway, I just wanted to post a quick haul and first impressions of 3 things that I purchased (note: all prices in USD):

  • Tarte Eye-ssentials Amazonian Clay Discovery Kit, $33
  • Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette, $52
  • Becca Shimmering Skin Pressed Perfector in Moonstone, $38

IMG_0137

Firstly, let’s talk about the Tarte set, which Sephora describes as a “four-piece collection of Amazonian clay- infused essentials for a bright-eyed and beautified look”. I’m a huge fan of Tarte’s mascaras and have recently finished a tube of their Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara so I was delighted to see it included in this kit (the main reason why I purchased it, actually). I also love Tarte as its products don’t contain parabens or sodium laureth sulfate.IMG_0141

It also comes with a flat, synthetic eyeshadow brush in gold and purple, Tarte’s signature colours. I think the quality is pretty good – I haven’t tested it out yet – but the brush feels good in my hands and looks like it would be great as a concealer brush, too.

Here’s a pic of the mascara – I like that it has a regular wand that’s not too bushy and not too tiny. It’s one of the best mascaras I’ve ever used as it makes lashes look super natural but voluminised. It also ‘grows’ your lashes, conditions them and thickens them as I’ve found after prolonged wear. The effect won’t be as pronounced as when using Revitalash or Talika Lipocils, but it definitely makes lashes lusher, darker and less prone to falling out.IMG_0142It also includes a waterproof cream eyeshadow in Rich Brown, a dark bronze-brown shade with tiny flecks of copper shimmer. Looks divine!

IMG_0139 IMG_0140The kit also came with Tarte’s EmphasEYES inner rim brightener, a nude peach pencil intended for the waterline to brighten your eyes and make them look larger. Forgot to snap a pic but will also let you know how I go with this!

Next product is from Becca, also another one of my fave brands, especially their foundations and illuminators. I already have the Shimmering Skin Perfector (liquid version) in Moonstone that is my all time favourite highlighter. I love how creamy and subtle it is, yet makes your face glow, so I’m hoping this pressed powder version is similar.

It certainly looks like it would be! It has a yellow undertone which means it won’t look too unnatural on my skin, and though it’s frosty when applied heavily, when sheered out it looks very subtle.

IMG_0143IMG_0144 IMG_0145 IMG_0147The compact is also weighty and quite large (the size of my whole palm) which means it’ll last a long time!

IMG_0149Next, the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette… something that has been on my wishlist a LONG time. I have the Naked 1 palette (I actually have 2 of it), skipped the Naked 2 when it was released, but couldn’t resist the Naked 3. After watching Maskcara’s Romantic Pretty tutorial on Youtube, I was convinced I needed to buy it. I mean, I couldn’t possibly achieve a romantically pretty pink gold look without this palette?? :-)

IMG_0150IMG_0152

IMG_0151I just love how pretty and wearable the shades are. They’re extremely similar to Naked 1 except with more of a rose-gold theme. It’s a beautiful range of matte, shimmer and glitter shadows from super light to dark.

I can already tell Burnout, Liar and Factory are going to become my go-to shades…

IMG_0153 IMG_0154 IMG_0155I also like how hefty the case is – it’s a sturdy metal case that closes firmly, unlike the flimsy cardboard construction of the Naked 1 (which has a magnetic closure). However, it’s also fairly heavy which means I probably won’t travel with it which is such a shame!

Anyway, that sums up my short haul + quick impressions of these new products. I absolutely LOVE my purchases and I think I’ll get so much wear out of them all. In depth review of the Naked 3 palette to come – I’ll also do some looks with it.

xo, Life+Makeup

3 thoughts on “Sephora Haul: NAKED3, Becca and Tarte

Leave a Reply

