Best of 2013: Face products

best of 2013

Here’s my roundup of the makeup and beauty products I personally thought were the best this year, as well as the new kids on the block that I thought were high performing products. How often I use the product as well as the longevity and texture of the product qualifies it for my Best of 2013 list. By the way, I use the word ‘newcomer’ loosely as these may be products that have been around for years but I’ve just discovered or acquired.

So, here we go!

Foundation:

Best foundation 2013

I found the Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15 in Warm Beige (3.5) to be the best foundation not only in 2013, but possibly one of the best ones I’ve tried in my life. It’s not only a perfect match for my skintone, but feels lightweight on my skin and provides a slightly glowy finish with medium coverage that’s buildable to full coverage.

There’s SPF but it doesn’t show up as a white cast in flash photography. It’s super easy to blend in and usually I just use quarter of a pump for my whole face, using a stippling or foundation brush to apply it. Plus, it looks stylish on my dressing table.

Best newcomer foundation

The best newcomer foundation last year was the NARS Sheer Glow foundation in Santa Fe, which I absolutely love. It’s quite similar to the Bobbi Brown foundation in texture/finish/packaging except it doesn’t last as long on the skin. While the Bobbi one lasts the entire day with no primer needed, the NARS foundation lasts around 7 hours on me. It also provides a glowy, dewy medium to full coverage finish. It is quite hydrating and I find it a pleasure to put on in the mornings.

Bronzer

Best bronzer

A new addition to my collection last year – but has been around quite awhile – was the Bobbi Brown Bronzing Powder in Medium, a milk chocolatey shade with very subtle reddish undertones.

I love it because it’s sheer so it’s difficult to put on too much, yet is buildable enough to provide a believable tan to the face. It’s also very good as a subtle contour. Plus, the packaging is sleek and easy to clean.

Best newcomer bronzer

The best newcomer bronzer of 2013 is MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium Deep. I only purchased this in November but it’s already proving to be a staple in my everyday makeup routine. It’s too sheer to be used as a contour shade (it’s actually more of a pressed powder that I bought in a couple of shades darker than my skintone). However, it makes an excellent all over colour to warm up the face especially in the morning when I’m particularly pale.

Best powder

Now on to face powder – the Chanel Natural Finish Loose Powder in 20 Clair is the best loose powder I’ve ever tried in my life. Second and third places would be the Becca Fine Loose Finishing Powder and the Bare Minerals Mineral Veil.

Why I like this Chanel powder: it’s extremely finely milled and removes shine/sets foundation without looking like you’ve got powder on. It’s virtually undetectable and feels lovely on the skin, not to mention I love the smell and packaging! it may be expensive but there’s so much powder in this, I’ve worn it nearly every day for 2 years and it’s still more than half full.

The best Newcomer loose powder (I forgot to  take a photo) is the abovementioned Becca Fine Loose Finishing Powder that I purchased last September. It’s milled really finely as well and comes in a variety of great colours.

BB best powder

The best pressed powder is the Bobbi Brown Sheer Finish Pressed Powder in Soft Sand and the Chanel Natural Finish Pressed Powder in 50 Peche. It’s a tie! The Bobbi Brown one is perfect for quick touchups at home since the compact is a bit bulky to carry around in the bag – non chalky and non cakey, removes shine without looking like you have too much makeup on. The Chanel one is the same (I’ve already repurchased it twice) except smaller and more stylish to carry about.

cdp ocher

The best concealer of 2013 (and my life) is the Cle de Peau Concealer in Ochre. This is my holy grail product ever since I reviewed it here in 2012. It not only totally covers my undereye circles, but neutralises them as well so that the undereye area doesn’t appear ashy like so many concealers do. It isn’t drying but it’s not super hydrating either, which is what gives it such a good staying power. I also don’t need much to cover undereye circles and redness around the face.

I can say I’ve used it nearly everyday for the past year and a bit (the image above is with the concealer stick twisted up all the way and you can see it’s nearly all gone!). I absolutely love it, it’s a magic concealer that just erases my dark circles and minor pimples. It’s not available in Australia and it’s really expensive, but I already purchased a backup when I was in America in December at Nordstrom for around $70.

Next post: Best blushes

Leave a Reply

