My skincare/hair routine

washed face

There are few things better in life than emerging from the shower, completely clean, with a freshly scrubbed face and well laundered hair. I’m not one of those girls who can go to bed with second-day hair – I just feel gross and oily. I also religiously follow a 4-step skincare routine each night since I was 18, which has ensured my skin’s continued clarity and softness. Perhaps it’s my good genes, but I’d like to think it’s also due to my skincare routine and veggie heavy diet.

So I thought I would share my skincare and hair routine as well as my daily diet!

Skincare

I take off the day’s grime and makeup with my trusty makeup remover: the humble Garnier Gentle Eye Makeup Remover, which is on the same level as the Lancome Bi-Facil, except it’s a fraction of the price. I remove all makeup with a cotton pad and a healthy swig of makeup remover, then hop into the shower where I gently cleanse my face with the Philosophy 3 in 1 Face Cleanser for Face and Eyes. It’s a HUGE bottle that’s still going despite daily use over the past 4 months.

Then, just to be sure my face is cleansed, I use Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Pore Scrub. It’s gentle enough for everyday use and the micro beads ensure my nose/chin/cheeks stay smooth. After I rinse off and get out of the shower, I tone with the Bobbi Brown Hydrating Face Tonic, which contains cucumber, chamomile, licorice, aloe leaf and lavender to soothe the skin and Vitamin B5. My skin does tingle when I use it, so I make sure not to use it over any broken skin.

Then, I follow up with serum – being the beauty junkie that I am, I have so many serums (more than 5 I think) but the current one on rotation is the Chantecaille Vital Essence with Arbutin, which is paraben free and can be used under the eyes as well. Arbutin is a natural anti-ageing antioxidant that prevents the formation of melanine (yay!)

I wait about 10 minutes or so for the serum to fully penetrate before I go ahead with my moisturiser. For night, I use the super hydrating Bobbi Brown Extra Repair Moisturising Balm, perfect for winter and the period going into spring. It’s very thick and has botanical ingredients that lock in moisture as well as wheat bran and clary sage. It feels great on dry skin but would probably be too much for summertime! I also use an eye gel, the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Gel, which is my holy grail undereye product – it literally erases the dark circles and puffiness with prolonged use. It’s expensive at $95, but it WORKS. Gotta remind myself to pick up some more when I head to the US as it’s only $62 there!

That about finishes my skincare routine – it is a lot shorter than it sounds! In the morning, it’s even simpler: I quickly moisturise with Chanel Hydra Beauty Gel Creme, because it’s fast drying (but I probably wouldn’t repurchase because it doesn’t do much for my skin – trying to use it up quickly). I add the Bobbi Brown cream on my nose because it sometime flakes.

Haircare

While I’m pretty fussy when it comes to my face, I’m completely low maintenance with my hair. My hair is naturally thick, shiny and has a slight wave, plus it’s long with side swept bangs – the perfect easy hairstyle! Plus, since I started eating a salad every day and more fish I’ve realised I don’t need to use as much conditioner (or sometimes not at all) because it’s so smooth! Amazing!!

Anyhow, I wash my hair with (embarrassingly enough) Head & Shoulders shampoo and condition with Herbal Essences Honey I’m Strong conditioner, which smells exactly like whipped honey. I only use about a 20 cent sized dollop because too much makes my hair greasy.

I towel dry my hair and let it air dry… and that’s about it. I either wear it down or tie it into a low ponytail. I wish I had the time and patience to try more elaborate hairstyles like the grecian braid or even curl my hair.

Diet

I love vegetarian food, and probably only eat meat about 2-3 times a week. For breakfast on weekdays, I usually have instant plain oatmeal, microwaved with soy milk and sprinkled with sultanas and a sliced banana. Or, I have a piece of toast with margarine and Vegemite. And of course I have a coffee – how would I function otherwise??

Lunch is usually leftovers from last night, which is often fish on rice, meatballs and pasta or chicken on rice. Sometimes I have canned tuna mixed with corn and low-fat mayo (but I need about 2 serves to fill me up!)

Dinner is more generous: fish on rice or pasta or nuggets or Thai curry or whatever, but I always have a huge leafy green salad before I start the mains to fill me up. The salad is basically lettuce with feta cheese and lemon juice/olive oil dressing, plus tomatoes. Lately I’ve been enjoying an apple vinaigrette.

On weekends, I love going out for brunch and usually order 2 poached eggs atop toast and avocado. Or, my favourite Huevos Rancheros: poached eggs in tomato passata with chorizo. YUM! I sometimes eat out for dinner on Friday or Saturday night, which really could range from McDonalds takeaway to Japanese food or steak and chips.

I think part of the reason why I feel healthy and maintain my weight to roughly 52-53 kg is because I don’t crave snacks the way most people do. I don’t feel the urge to have ice cream or potato chips or popcorn, in fact I find that I don’t like it that much! Instead, I snack on an apple smeared with peanut butter or a breadstick with hummus. I find that it not only tastes better, but makes you feel better too.

Here are some of my go-to healthy snack options that are Really Tasty:

  • Apple slices with peanut butter
  • Breadstick or water table crackers with hummus
  • Low-fat cheddar cheese with quince paste and crackers
  • Banana drizzled with honey
  • Peanut butter and sliced banana sandwich (whole wheat bread)
  • Cherry tomatoes and bocconcini cheese with balsamic vinegar
  • Fresh cherries and strawberries
  • Homemade avocado dip: mashed avocados with lemon juice, s+p and chopped tomatoes.
  • Pico de Gallo (mmmmm…)
  • Canned tuna in springwater mixed with corn

 

Leave a Reply

