Review: Essence Me and My Ice Cream Collection

Hello everyone! Last week I picked up a couple of items from the new Me and My Ice Cream collection from Essence, which is one of my fave drugstore brands. It’s just so affordably priced and the quality is not too bad, either! The only downside is the packaging, but with rock bottom prices who can really complain?

Essence collection

Here’s what I purchased:

Essence me and my ice cream shimmer pearl and eyeshadow

Essence me and my ice cream shimmer pearl and eyeshadow

Essence me and my ice cream shimmer pearl and eyeshadow (open)

Essence me and my ice cream shimmer pearl and eyeshadow (open)

Essence shimmer pearls

Essence shimmer pearls

Essence me and my ice cream shimmer pearls

Essence Shimmer Pearls compared with travel-sized Guerlain Meteorites (blush and highlighter versions)

IMG_4474

The Essence shimmer pearls are really adorable! I think they cost around $5.95, and are basically a subtle shimmer highlighter for the face. I’ve shown them alongside my travel-sized Guerlain Meteorites in Blush and Teint Rose (a few pearls are missing…) for comparison and you can see how similar they look! The Essence version is a lot frostier than Teint Rose and is obviously totally different colour from Blush.

The Essence pearls don’t add any colour (at least not noticeably) but do lean towards the cool toned shades. They’re perfect for lighter skin tones as a nice glowy highlighter on the cheekbones and browbones but would probably come off as ashy on dark skin. I love it myself but find that I have to apply it twice or even thrice for the sheen to show up.

All in all, I do like it well enough but it doesn’t replace my holy grail highlighters/luminisers such as Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector and Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick. I mean, it is only $6 yet works better than heaps of other higher end products, so I think it’s a great product!

Essence baked eyeshadow in Icylicious

Essence baked eyeshadow in Icylicious

 

Essence baked eyeshadow in Icylicious

Essence baked eyeshadow in Icylicious (swatch)

I also purchased the Essence baked eyeshadow in Icylicious, around $5 I think. It’s described as an apricot colour but in the pan looks more like a pale pink with a quite a lot of shimmer (but not chunky shimmer – it’s wearable fine shimmer). It’s a really beautiful colour with a finish that is similar to MAC’s. The lasting power isn’t as good as MAC eyeshadows, of course, but it lasts for 5-6 hours applied dry with a primer underneath. I haven’t used it wet but I’m sure the pigmentation will be beautiful!

I really love this eyeshadow and will probably purchase the other 2 shades, Cone Head and Always in my Mint. The packaging is not bad for these baked shadows, either – relatively sturdy with a clear top making it easy to see the shade.

As for the rest of the collection I’m looking to get a couple of nail polishes – I love pastels and the Essence polishes are pretty decent! I can’t wait to see what the brand comes up with next.

2 thoughts on “Review: Essence Me and My Ice Cream Collection

Leave a Reply

