What to pack for… A winter weekend getaway

what to pack for a winter weekend

Have you ever found yourself at a loss to what to pack when faced with an upcoming holiday or vacation? I’ve been there, done that and after countless trips involving a moment of agony when I realised I forgot to pack moisturiser, or worse, my entire makeup bag, I feel like I’ve learnt my lesson when it comes to packing.

And yes, I did actually leave my entire makeup bag behind by accident before a weekend trip to Sydney, meaning that I had to depend on the ONLY makeup item in my hand carry, which was a black pencil eyeliner. I even used it to do my brows.

So, because of these unpleasant memories, I’m going to start doing a “What to pack” series each week, so that you’ll never have to forget a single item again!

This week is what I would pack when going away for the weekend in winter…

makeupbag1

From clockwise: Josie Maran makeup bag (gift set), Becca Avalon makeup palette, essential tools/brushes, and Bobbi Brown pressed powder in Soft Sand.

The makeup bag is just the perfect size to stash makeup for a weekend trip – plus it has a really cute design! The Becca palette is also really handy, it has 3 neutral eyeshadows, a cream highlighter and cream blush (enough for 2 days but if I was going away for longer I would bring a bigger palette).

Pressed powder is of course essential to set foundation and banish T-zone shine, and the brushes are the right size for a travel bag.

makeupbag2

From clockwise: Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Boy, Clarins sample cleanser/moisturiser/toner, Dior mini mascara and Maybelline Master Liner, Clinique all about eyes concealer, NYC Bronzer in Sunny, and Australis brow pencil.

I had to include my fave lippie, the Chanel Rouge Coco Shine (it provides subtle colour and moisture). The Maybelline Master Liner is also really great for a crisp line that doesn’t smudge. My other essentials are concealer for undereye circles, bronzer to warm up the complexion and a brow pencil.

Untitled

Lastly, I would pack the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation in 02 for really natural coverage. It looks really great in photos too and controls T-zone shine pretty well. It’s one of my favourite sheer foundations.

Hope this helps with any packing dilemmas!

Leave a Reply

