Top 10 under $20

I LOVE doing tags, especially makeup ones! I’ve been a longtime follower of Beauty Broadcast on Youtube, and noticed that she uploaded a video on her top 10 makeup items under $10.

While I think it’s awesome that you can get products at such a low price point these days in America, it’s not so much the case down under, where a Maybelline mascara can cost $20. That’s why I’ve changed the tag slightly to Top 10 under $20 to fit our market here :)

I’ll still be profiling products that are as cheap as possible without compromising on quality – so here goes!

10 for under $20

 

IMG_4370

 

1. Face of Australia Mineral Therapy Liquid Foundation in Tan, $11.95 from Big W/Kmart. 

This is a great little buy – it comes with quite a lot of product at 50 ml, and is extremely travel friendly due to its packaging. Application wise, it’s like a tinted moisturiser that covers redness and evens skin out, but doesn’t cover larger imperfections. It also has jojoba and Vitamin C and E, which is great for the skin! At this price, it’s really a no brainer!

IMG_4379

2. L’Oreal Colour Infallible eyeshadow in Bronze Goddess, $19.95 from Priceline.

Note: Priceline is currently having a 3 for 2 promotion on these!

Coming in at just under $20, you might think that these L’Oreal shadows aren’t worth it, but when they’re being compared to Giorgio Armani’s Eyes to Kill, it’s  a really good deal. This shade in particular is quite unique, with a gold sheen to the olive green powder eyeshadow. It’s quite glittery so pack it on the eyelid with an eyeshadow brush instead of sweeping it across.

IMG_4381

3. Essence Eyebrow Stylist Set, $4.25 for 2 shades, a brush and 3 stencils. From Priceline.

This kit is the cutest thing ever! It comes in a plastic capsule which makes it great for travel, as well as 2 shades to mix and match! I use the dark shade every day on the outer 2/3 of my eyebrows and the lighter shade on the inner 1/3 for a natural look. I also find the small brush perfect for my eyebrows! (I tossed the stencils, though).

IMG_4376

4. Essence Gel Eyeliner, $5.95 from Priceline

I have this eyeliner in 3 shades as a gift from a friend, and love this shade in particular (London Baby). And it’s only 6 bucks!! The consistency is gel like but almost like a spongy feel when I press my brush into it. It applies smoothly but I find I do need to go over a few times to make the liner more opaque.

IMG_4375

5. Bourjois Blush in Rose Eclat, $20 from Priceline.

This is one of the more expensive drugstore buys, but it’s made in the same factory as Chanel products as they’re the same company, so the quality standards are definitely there! It has a really strong powdery scent in the pan that I hate, but once it’s applied you can’t smell it at all. This shade is particularly flattering on warmer skin tones, being a dusty rose.

IMG_4383

6. The Face Shop Face It Styling Auto Gel Liner in Black, $15 from The Face Shop (Melbourne Central)

This is in my opinion a dupe for Bobbi Brown’s Long Wear Pencil Eyeliner – a gel liner in pencil form that stays on all day long! And of course the price point makes a huge difference!

IMG_4371

7. Milani Multitasker Face Powder in Medium, $7 from Walgreens 

I purchased this while on holidays last year in the states from Walgreens in San Francisco. It’s one of the best setting powders/pressed face powders I’ve ever used. It’s perfect for dusting all over the face without looking cakey or too much, and perfect for banishing T-zone shine. It also lasts forever! Too bad it’s not sold in Australia :(

IMG_4378

8. Models Prefer Ultra Lipgloss Pencil in Cocktail Hour, $7.99 from Priceline

This chubby stick has some serious shine going on. It’s basically a liquid lipstick in a pencil form! The colour payoff is also fantastic and it’s my favourite lip colour (berry). Great for stashing in the bag/car to take your makeup from day to night.

IMG_4382

9. elf Contouring Blush & Bronzing Powder, $7.95 from http://www.crushcosmetics.com.au

They say this product is the perfect dupe for NARS Orgasm blush and NARS Laguna bronzer, and they’re right! Of course, if you want to be picky, the blush does go on a lot sheerer than the NARS one and the bronzer is a little darker. But overall a really great duo and my go to blush when I don’t know what blush to use :)

IMG_4377

10. NYX 10 piece eyeshadow in Smokey Eyes, $14.95 from http://www.crushcosmetics.com.au

You can’t really go wrong with so many shades in one palette! This combination in particular is great for cool toned complexions. I’m neutral toned so I can still get away with this as long as I dont overdo the silver colours. The silky texture of the shadows and the pigmentation is really what makes this palette amazing, especially for the price!

Hope you guys enjoyed my 10 for under $20 post! While it’s difficult to find cheap and quality makeup in Australia, there are definitely some standout picks from local (and international) brands. Not all products from one brand are the same standard, so I’m always testing as much as I can to find the best quality ones!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

