Haul + Swatches: Bite Beauty, Chanel + Wanderlove

 

 

Sunday night is always associated with pre-Monday blues, and the realisation that yet another weekend has gone by so quickly. I spent Saturday at a friend’s house watching the last few episodes of Revenge and Sunday hitting the shops. I’ll show you what I bought later on in this post, but for the meantime here’s a recent haul that I made consisting largely of Bite Beauty products.

IMG_4197 IMG_4221

What I got:

Lip Shine in Vintage

It’s a pretty dusty pink lip gloss with purple undertones that goes on easily, feels comfortable and non-sticky, and perhaps best of all, isn’t too shiny.

IMG_4222 IMG_4224 IMG_4223IMG_4225 IMG_4226 IMG_4227

 

High Pigment Matte Pencil in Rhubarb

This is similar in colour to the Vintage Lip Shine, but darker and with a touch more brown. It’s slightly darker to what I’m normally used to, so I don’t find myself reaching for it much, but it gives a very sophisticated wine-coloured stain.

 

IMG_4229 IMG_4231IMG_4234IMG_4233IMG_4232

 

 

Lush Lip Tint in Cherry

This is my favourite new way to wear a red without feeling self-conscious. Because it’s so hydrating and balmy,  it doesn’t feel dry or sink into lines like many red lippies can. It’s also a more muted red colour, which makes it all the more wearable. Love the B in the middle of the lippie :)

IMG_4239 IMG_4240IMG_4243IMG_4242IMG_4241IMG_4244

Luminous Creme Lipstick in Vouvray

This is a cool-toned petal pink shade that I think would be perfect on paler skin tones with pink undertones. On my warm skin tone, it doesn’t look particularly flattering but I love the shade so much I still wear it, but topped with a coat of peach or coral lip gloss.

IMG_4252 IMG_4253IMG_4254IMG_4256

Luminous Creme Lipstick in Grenache

This shade took my breath away when I saw it for the first time. Seems like an overexaggeration, but this purple-toned fuschia shade is simply amazing. It’s bold, opaque and creamy – plus I don’t own anything like this colour!

IMG_4259

IMG_4260IMG_4261IMG_4263

Now that the Bite Beauty haul is over, I have a few other things to show – namely the Chanel Eclat Lumiere Highlighter Face Pen in Beige Clair 20.

Some quick thoughts: beautiful packaging and perfect to carry around in your handbag for glam touchups, but in my opinion doesn’t provide enough coverage to act as an undereye concealer. When applied on top of a more heavy-duty concealer, it adds that extra glow and flawlessness to the face, but alone it doesn’t really cover dark circles. It’s great as a highlighter on the top of the cheekbones and under the brow bone, though.

IMG_4198 IMG_4200 IMG_4199

 

Next up is the Wanderlove Lip Wand in Apricot. I purchased this off OzSale for $13 and although I’d never heard of this brand, the concept sounded interesting and so I wanted to check it out.

It’s basically a lip liner, lipstick and lip gloss all in one, which is pretty nifty for travel. However, it is rather long (and heavy) which makes it harder to fit into smaller makeup bags. The brownish shade of the lipstick also means it’s not flattering on all skin tones and not the most modern, but I do love the lipgloss.

The lip liner is also the exact same shade as the lipstick, which to some people may defeat the purpose of having the lip liner at all.

IMG_4201 IMG_4202IMG_4205IMG_4204IMG_4203 IMG_4206

Wanderlove Eye Wand in Bronze. This consists of a pearly white eyeshadow stick, bronze eyeshadow cream and black eyeliner.

This is something I would probably use more often than the Lip Wand, just because it feels more multipurpose and is able to create a complete eye look (save for mascara). The bronze eyeshadow cream is great for all over the lid, although on me it would probably smudge. The white pearl eyeshadow can be used as a highlighter for the brow bone and in the inner corners of the eye, and the eyeliner can line and define the upper lash line.

IMG_4210IMG_4211IMG_4212IMG_4216IMG_4215IMG_4213IMG_4220IMG_4218IMG_4217

 

And now for some of the things I purchased today…

Oroton black leather handbag for $185, reduced from $499 which I thought was a huge discount! It’s the perfect carryall that goes with any outfit, especially for work. It’s great for meetings as it not only looks professional, but also can fit an ipad, A4 papers and notebooks into its 3 compartments (the middle is zippered). Love it!!

 

IMG_4362IMG_4363

 

I also purchased a Royal Albert mug from David Jones for $19.95. It comes in a tin and is absolutely adorable!! I can imagine myself sipping Earl Grey from this and nibbling finger biscuits…  Plus, I can use the tin to store my nail polishes!

 

IMG_4358IMG_4359

I must be obsessed with floral homewares, because my next buys were some Maxwell & Williams fine bone china plates, teacup and saucer. It’s part of their Aviary collection, which features the cutest little birds in bird cages surrounded with spring blooms and butterflies. I also purchased the soup plate which is not pictured (as it’s wrapped up).

Each plate was $4 from David Jones and the teacup/saucer set was around $6. The soup plate was also around $6, all after discount. It’s such a great price, I’m going to go back and purchase 2 more plates and 1 more teacup/saucer set to make it complete!

 

IMG_4360

 

I also bought a pair of Nine West red peep-toe pumps with a massive bow on the front, for $74. I can’t wait to wear these out. It’s more of a maroon shade rather than bright red, which I like because I already have a pair of bright red heels.

IMG_4350IMG_4357

 

I also bought these fuschia round toe pumps from Nine West, for around $65. These are just a great alternative to regular black pumps and add some colour to a monochrome ensemble.

IMG_4351 IMG_4353

 

That wraps up the haul! Hope it hasn’t been too long – I love sharing my purchases with others ;)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

