Review: Illamasqua Skinbase

makeup review2-jpg

Today I’m reviewing Illamasqua’s Skinbase, a foundation/BB cream I purchased recently from Myer for $41. My shade is 8.5. Hope you guys like the new format of my posts – I think it looks a lot better and more structured than my previous reviews.

Here are some pics and my initial thoughts…

IMG_4321 IMG_4322 IMG_4323

first look-jpg

This is a really travel friendly foundation because it’s easy and light to pack in your bag, but also because the formula is similar to a BB cream which combines skincare, primer and foundation into one. It doesn’t contain SPF, though. My first thought when I tried it on in-store was that it gave me an incredibly flawless finish with so little product. It does live up to the hype in that my skin looks amazing after I’ve applied it, yet natural and feels comfortable on the skin. It’s not too pricey too for the amount of product you’re getting.

packaging-jpg

Sometimes I prefer glass-bottled foundation (to display on my dresser) but there are times where I prefer foundation to come packaged in light, plastic tubes – Chanel Aqualumiere is a great example and so is the Illamasqua Skinbase. As you can see from the below pic, the cap is spill-proof and there is no chance of the bottle breaking. However, it’s also stylish enough to keep in my makeup arsenal. I love how the cap has squared edges and not just the normal rounded ones.

IMG_4335

colour-jpg

I purchased this in the shade 8.5, which is a yellow-toned light/medium shade. When applied on the back of my wrist, it looks really yellow but somehow on my face it looks more neutral toned. So word of advice when trying this out – try it on your face, not your wrist! Since it doesn’t oxidise, I think it’s a perfect match for me! It looks best when worn alone or with a sheer dusting of loose powder as it has a matte finish, so don’t pile on the layers or it’ll look cakey. Skinbase also comes in a spectrum of colours so I’m sure any skin tone will be able to find their match.

texture (1)-jpg

The texture is similar to any BB cream: creamy and thick but easily spreadable. It’s really easy to blend, and a little goes a LONG way. For my entire face, I usually use a pea-sized drop, which is not much at all. It provides medium coverage that can either be sheered out to a light coverage (using moisturiser) or heavier coverage by using more of the product. Overall, I love the texture and how it feels on my skin.

longevity-jpg

Skinbase lasts a long time, although I haven’t worn it over the 6 hour mark. Worn alone with a sheer layer of translucent powder, it keeps skin looking (nearly) as fresh as when I first applied it. However I found I did need to touch up my t-zone where it got oily throughout the day, but that’s no different to my other foundations. When I took it off at the end of the 6 hours, quite a lot of foundation came off on the cotton pad which shows how long it lasted :)

swatches-jpg

Now for the swatches before and after I applied the Skinbase (on the left side of my face or right in the below pics). I didn’t use any other makeup products.

IMG_4342 IMG_4346

In different lighting:

IMG_4344

Below: half of my face is makeup-free and the other half has a light layer of Skinbase applied.

IMG_4348IMG_4338

Leave a Reply

