Trend: Eyeshadow sticks

I’ve been seeing a lot of brands come up with eyeshadow sticks or eyeshadow pencils these days, and while it’s not a new concept, this trend has certainly come back into vogue. I’m glad to say that while the packaging looks identical to the eyeshadow sticks that were so popular in the early to mid 2000’s, they are now MUCH longer wearing :)

I think the appeal lies in its convenience and portability. These eyeshadows are perfect for the girl on the go – just twist up and swipe in the morning and blend quickly with a finger. Eyeshadow sticks are also much more travel-friendly than bulkier eye palettes or individual pan eyeshadows. They’re called a variety of names depending on how creative the brand wants to get – sticks, crayons, jumbo pencils… the list goes on.

Today, I’ll show you some of my favourites and some I haven’t tried but want to try:

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Shadow Stick (A$44)

Bobbi-Brown-Long-Wear-Cream-Shadow-Sticks-

These were some of the first eyeshadow sticks I tried this year, and I absolutely adore them. They come in a small but well-edited range of colours. What I like most about the shade range is that they’re all wearable, even the purples, greens and blues – because they’re not too bright.  That’s not to say they’re not pigmented though, as they definitely have a great colour payoff. They’re just more subdued shades.

As for the texture, some are metallic finishes and some are matte, which really surprised me as I’ve not seen any matte eyeshadow sticks so far on the market.

Think of this product as their long-wear cream eyeshadows in a stick version – equally as long-wearing and dries to a powder texture, except the sticks are slightly more emollient than the pot version. I think you have around 20 seconds longer to ‘play’ around with the eyeshadow before it sets.

My favourite shades are: Golden Pink (shimmering pink-peach) and Shadow (smokey blue-gray)

Laura Mercier Caviar Stick ($A39)

Laura Mercier

Laura Mercier’s version is very similar in packaging and texture to the Bobbi Brown ones, and come in both neutral and bright shades. I would say their brighter shades are, well, brighter than BB’s – but I still think they’re wearable colours (even as a pop on the lower lashline).

I don’t own any of them but when swatched, it goes on the eye easily and is pretty emollient, but once it sets it doesn’t budge. I don’t think they have any matte shades (but I may be wrong), they all seem to have a metallic finish to me. My favourite shades are Cocoa, Khaki and Rose Gold.

Jouer Creme Eyeshadow Crayon (US$24)

jouer creme eyeshadow

 

Next, Jouer’s version also boasts to be waterproof and smear-resistant, but only comes in five shades. Their shades Avant Garde (blue) and Abstract (black) have flecks of glitter in them. All shades have a metallic finish. Now, I haven’t tried these yet nor had the chance to really read the reviews out there, but they seem to be similar to Laura Mercier’s (just with glitter in them).

They are certainly more affordable than the other two brands though… Jouer’s version also comes with an inbuilt sharpener. I’m considering purchasing a few… namely Renaissance and Baroque.

Stila Smudge Crayon Waterproof Eye Colour (US$22)

Stila crayon

 

I own Stila’s smudge crayon waterproof eye pencil in Umber (pictured above), a metallic dark bronze. This is by far the LONGEST wearing eye stick I’ve tried, beating out BB and LM. Relatively inexpensive as well, it comes in a small range of shades that are mostly dark and light shades (not many brights).

The only unique shade I found was ‘Pink Violet’, a cool-toned bright metallic purple-pink. I only own Umber, though, so my review is based on that shade. It goes on easily and doesn’t tug on eyelids, and sets extremely quickly (more so than the others) in around 10 seconds. After that it’s totally unblendable and budge-proof.

I swatched it on the back of my hand and after consistent washing, completely came off after 4 days. Crazy!?

Also comes with a sharpener, which I like.

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil ($6.60)

nyx jumbo

NYX has had these jumbo pencils for ages, I first tried them in 2009. They come in lots of pretty shades too (brights, neutrals, darks) but are not twist-up. You’ll have to sharpen them with an actual pencil sharpener. While they look amazing and really pigmented when initially swatched, the intensity quickly fades within 2 hours. It also begins smudging within 2 hours, even with primer, as it’s really emollient/oily. I bought Black Bean and Milk.

So all in all, not my favourite eye shadow stick, but then again it is only $6.60 so I wasn’t expecting much. I am sure those with non-oily eyelids wouldn’t find it a problem!

So there you have it – all the different types out there! If you have tried another brand’s twist up eyeshadow sticks, please let me know in the comments. I’m always looking out for my next holy grail eye product after all :)

Leave a Reply

