Review: Urban Decay NAKED basics

Today I’m going to review Urban Decay’s NAKED basics palette, which retails for US$27 at Sephora. My mum kindly bought this for me on her recent trip to the States (along with some other makeup goodies I’ll be reviewing later on as well).

This compact palette of 6 neutral shades is Urban Decay’s first matte palette, four of which have not been released before. Foxy and Walk of Shame (WOS) are the two previously released shades. It comes in a sturdy plastic brown case that fits into the palm of my hand. Inside there is a wide mirror that takes up all of the cover side of the palette. However, this palette doesn’t come with a brush.

Read on for my review!

IMG_4000 IMG_4001 IMG_4002

IMG_4003

My first thoughts on the palette: First off, not all the shades are matte – it seems that Venus (first shade) is satin-finish, but could pull off as matte from a distance. It doesn’t contain any shimmer/glitter. Usually when I think of ‘matte’, I think of boring, 90’s finish eyeshadows that come off powdery and chalky. However, these shades are not chalky in the least, I think they apply smoothly with enough pigmentation (although WOS doesn’t really show up on my skin).

This is a good palette for travel, although since I am  more of a satin/frost-finish type of gal, I wouldn’t take this on a longer holiday e.g. more than a weekend long. However, it’s great for a really basic, “I’m running errands” type of look where you want your eyes to be defined but not look as if you’re wearing makeup.

My thoughts on the shades:

  • Venus – Off white (slightly satin finish). Great for inner corner and all-over lid shade.
  • Foxy – Pale yellow-white (matte). I use this for my browbone highlight when I can be bothered to take the extra step.
  • WOS – Pale pink with a tinge of beige (matte). Doesn’t really show up on me that much, but I imagine it would be a nice all over lid colour. I use this as a base shade.
  • Naked 2 – Light taupe (matte). Not an ‘essential’ shade, my opinion of the palette wouldn’t change if this shade was not included. However, it serves as a nice all over lid shade.
  • Faint – Medium brown with touch of gray (matte). What I would call coffee with a dash of milk. This is my fave shade in the palette since it perfectly defines the crease without looking like I’m wearing anything.
  • Crave – Matte black. Great pigmentation, it doesn’t apply grayish like a lot of matte blacks can do. Faint + Crave mixed together is my perfect brow shade!

IMG_4004 IMG_4005 IMG_4006 IMG_4008

Swatches (second pic above, L-R): Venus, Foxy, WOS and Naked 2 in top row (you can’t even see WOS on my arm!). On the bottom row, Faint and Crave.

Overall, a great palette to have in my collection as I don’t have many mattes, but not my go-to travel palette simply because of personal preferences.

3 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay NAKED basics

Leave a Reply

