Review: MAC Mattene Lipstick in Eden Rouge

The MAC Mattene Lipstick in Eden Rouge is a limited edition that was released as part of the brand’s Posh Paradise collection way back in Fall 2011, but I recently got my hands on it at the Estee Lauder corporate shop (don’t worry, it was unopened and brand new). This lipstick is also part of a larger haul I did (pics below) involving Bobbi Brown’s BBU Palette and two MAC lipliners, both of which I will review later.

IMG_4030IMG_4033 IMG_4034 IMG_4043

Now on to the review!

Packaging: The Mattene range differs from the usual bullet-shaped MAC lipsticks in that it’s a slimmer, taller tube that has a rubberised casing. The normal range of lipsticks are not rubberised but are regular plastic, and is shorter and heavier with a more pointed cap. I prefer the Mattene packaging though, because it’s lighter and easy to carry around. The rubberised casing is also nice and fingerprints don’t show up easily, unlike NARS products!

Texture: It’s marketed as a “semi-matte” textured lipstick, but I found it to be more on the satiny side – it’s definitely not matte. It is also extremely hydrating, I didn’t find that I needed lip balm or exfoliation prior to applying, and that’s saying something since my lips are pretty dry. It goes on opaque in one swipe and I don’t find I need more than one coat.

Colour: Eden Rouge is a blue-based red that suits my skintone quite well (I am cool/neutral toned). It’s not overly blue-based like Clarins Rouge Joli in Clarins Red, which means warmer skintones can wear this shade. I do feel it’s not a unique shade though, I’m sure you could find similar ones from Maybelline and L’Oreal.

Longevity: I have not tested this for more than 3 hours, but when worn it seemed to last the whole time. Since it’s so hydrating I can’t imagine it would last for a whole day, though, but when I removed it with makeup wipes it still seemed to leave an uneven stain on my lips.

In a nutshell: It’s a great blue-based lipstick that flatters all skintones and hydrates, but there are similarly cheaper options out there that probably last longer.

Below swatches: one coat and two coats

IMG_4044 IMG_4045

IMG_4048

IMG_4179

One thought on “Review: MAC Mattene Lipstick in Eden Rouge

  1. Pingback: 7 day beauty challenge: Friday | Life + Makeup

Leave a Reply

