Haul: Bobbi Brown basics

 

 

 

 

A couple of weeks ago, I received a couple of basic Bobbi Brown products:

– Skin Foundation SPF 15 in Warm Beige (3.5)

– Sheer Finished Pressed Powder in Sand (2)

– Creamy Concealer in Warm Beige

– Creamy Corrector in Bisque

– Sheer Colour Cheek Tint in Sheer Pink (limited edition)
IMG_3934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Firstly, the Sheer Finished Pressed Powder in Sand. It looks light but suits my skintone perfectly since it’s so sheer and lightweight. I like, but don’t love, this product as I’ve already got my “holy grail” powders (Chanel Universelle Poudre) and Milani Multitasker). However this is still a good staple to have nearby to set my foundation with.

IMG_3937 IMG_3939

 

 

 

 

IMG_3947

Concealer and Corrector:

I can’t remember which one is which as the shades look so similar in the photos, but I think the corrector is the one on the left (the peachier shade) and the concealer is the one on the right (the yellow-beige shade).

I have to say, I absolutely LOVE the combination of these two. The corrector virtually obliterates any dark circles I have, while the concealer ‘hides’ the peach tone of the corrector and brings it back to my natural skin colour. They are both easy to travel with as they’re so small and compact, but I do wish they could have been combined into one palette. This is my HG for under eye concealer, along with my Cle de Peau one.

IMG_3940IMG_3941

The Sheer Colour Cheek Tint in Sheer Pink is a limited edition shade released for Valentine’s Day. It’s a cool pink shade that is best suited to fair/medium complexions. The packaging is sleek and elegant, and the blush is twist-up. It also feels weighty in the hand but not overly heavy.

It does not have any shimmer/glitter particles in it and it looks like there could be a few drugstore dupes out there – Revlon has a couple of cream blushes and Napoleon Perdis’ line NP has similar shades in its cream blush stick range. But while the colour isn’t totally unique, it does glide on a lot smoother than drugstore cream blushes, contains more product and lasts a lot longer. I find that two coats usually does the job for me as it does go on sheer.

IMG_3945IMG_3946

IMG_3943

Lastly, the Skin Foundation in Warm Beige is a yellow-toned, sheer foundation with a slightly watery consistency. This description, while accurate, doesn’t sound particularly appealing but this foundation has actually made it into my top 3 foundations of all time. I absolutely love the way it applies and wears on me – it goes on sheer but manages to cover up pores, redness and any small imperfections. Now this may be because I am not prone to pimples and have pretty stable, normal skin but sometimes I do have redness and the foundation covers it up well. It basically gives my skin that slightly glowy, no-makeup makeup look. It also lasts about 10 hours on me with slight oiliness in the t-zone by the fourth hour.

Here it is below sheered out and applied thickly.

IMG_3948

IMG_3949

 

The only gripe I have about this foundation is that it’s slightly too yellow for me. Being Asian you’d think I would have a yellow undertone, but that’s in fact a misconception… I’m neutral toned so overly yellow foundations don’t work for me. The shade Beige (3) would have been perfect, but I make do with 3.5 as it’s not really a big difference to me.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

