4 favourite skincare products

After reading Allure’s Reader’s Choice Awards, I thought I’d share some of my favourite skincare products that have actually worked for me over the years.

4 fave skincare products

Cleanser

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser, US$15 for 50ml (not available in Australia – I bought it at a Sephora in San Francisco)

This product is non-soapy and gentle on the skin, as it contains soy proteins, rosewater, cucumber and borage seed oils. The texture and the fragrance-free formula reminds me of Cetaphil. It doesn’t remove eye makeup but does do a good job of gently cleansing the face without making it feel tight or shiny. However, and you should take note – I just found out that it contains parabens (7 different types). This doesn’t bother me a whole lot as they are simply preservatives and are found in shampoos, makeup and food, but those that have dermatitis/roseacea should perhaps avoid this product as parabens can irritate the condition. However there has been no conclusive evidence that parabens contribute to cancer/life-threatening diseases. Just thought I’d let you know :)

Runner up: Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser, $11.95 at Priceline.

Exfoliator

Clinique 7 day scrub cream, $47 for 100ml or Clarisonic Mia, $111.

I like this particular exfoliator because it’s relatively gently on the skin yet the micro-beads are large enough to remove dirt from pores. I don’t use this for 7 days straight as it tends to make my nose flake, but used 3 times a week it works just fine. I have to point out I haven’t used many exfoliators and so don’t know the “best ones” out there. I alternate between this scrub and my Clarisonic Mia (I don’t use them together).

Runner up: Mary Kay Microdermabrasion, $66 for the set.

Toner

SKII Facial Treatment Clear Lotion, $85 for 150ml.

This product was rated 4.2 out of 5 lippies on Makeup Alley, and I have to say I agree with them. This toner feels so lovely on the face and unlike other toners, doesn’t smell and doesn’t make the skin feel taut. It contains AHA, which has anti-ageing properties as it penetrates the dead surface cells of the skin, sloughing them off  and exposing newer skin below. I’ve heard controversial things about AHA too, but that’s another story..

After consistent use (every night for 3 weeks) I’ve started to see a slight brightening in my complexion and there is no longer redness on the cheeks. However, I ran out last week and now the redness is creeping back :(

Runner up: Witch hazel

Moisturiser

Bobbi Brown Hydrating Gel Cream, $82 for 50ml

This is my summer moisturiser and I really like it – it has tropical grass extract and Vitamin E for hydration and anti-oxidant protection against environmental damage. However, the main reason why I’m a fan is because it is easily absorbed into the skin, meaning I don’t have to wait around for it to be absorbed in the morning before applying makeup. Pricey, but lasts forever. The jar also looks nice on my vanity :)

For winter, I recommend Bobbi Brown’s EXTRA Repair Moisturising Balm. It smells heavenly (like you’re in a spa) and its super-rich, thick formula ensures dry skin stays hydrated in winter. But it’s definitely too thick for summer in my opinion.

Runner up: Chanel Hydra Beauty Gel Cream, around $100 (?).

Hope you enjoyed my skincare rec’s! I’ll be doing one on my fave makeup products for eyes, lips and face next week!

One thought on “4 favourite skincare products

  1. I absolutely love your blog and find many
    of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would
    you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome site!

Leave a Reply

