Secret to smooth lips

I don’t know about you, but my lips are perennially chapped, even in summer. Keeping them smooth with just lip balm alone isn’t going to cut it – a more intensive routine will keep them hydrated and un-chapped year-round. Here are my tips:

Chapped lips (Image from Getty)

1. Exfoliate your lips with a lip scrub. If I’m lazy, I’ll just use Mary Kay TimeWise Microdermabrasion Step 1 in the shower, which can also be used all over the face, or Smashbox Lip Exfoliant, which has larger grains and an energising peppermint smell. I usually do this step twice a week.

If I’m feeling creative, I DIY-it by mixing 1 part brown sugar with 2 parts organic or manuka honey. Then I smear it all over my lips and buff it in circular motions for about 2 minutes. Then rinse off with warm water. This will eliminate flakes of skin and soften them at the same time.

Smashbox exfoliant

MK dermabrasion

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Smear a thick layer of lip balm on (no SPF). I like gloppy textures for this step, such as good old Vaseline, Dior Creme de Rose or Bobbi Brown Lip Balm. Wait 5 minutes for it to sink in.

vaselinedior creme de roseBB lipbalm

 

 

 

 

 

3. Lastly, before I head out, I coat my lips with a lightweight, non-sticky lip balm with SPF in it. There are many good options out there but my personal favourites are EOS, Burt’s Bees and Carmex.

Drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day will also help, of course! :)

 

Leave a Reply

