Review: Tom Ford Lip Colour in Bruised Plum

Tom Ford Lip Colour in Bruised Plum is my new favourite dark berry shade. Retailing at David Jones for about $65 (US$45), it’s a deep vampy plum colour tinged with red. It also contains sheer gold shimmer that’s virtually undetectable when applied.

Pics 024

I wouldn’t say it’s a must-have shade as I have several shades that could be dupes for this product – Australis Colour Inject in Can Can and Maybelline Colour Sensational lipstick in Plum Paradise come to mind. The texture isn’t anything to rave about either, although it glides on smoothly and is quite moisturising.

The best part would be the staying power of this lipstick. I haven’t tested it for a full day of wear but I wore it for 4-5 hours without it fading too much. Also, when I wiped it off with a napkin, it continued to stain my lips for the rest of the day.

Pics 025

 

 

The luxe gold-and-white packaging is a major plus as well, and it definitely deserves a place on my vanity, which I don’t tend to do with my drugstore lippies. Capping the lipstick also delivers a satisfying ‘click’! However it is a little heavy, which is why I don’t travel with it.
Pics 026 Pics 029

 

Overall, I like it but don’t love it- I could definitely live without it. It’s also more of an autumn/winter shade rather than a summer one. Given we’re in summer right now I’d probably save this for the colder months. I just feel it’s too dark for the warm weather – but I could also sheer it out and use it as a stain.

Leave a Reply

