Review: Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector & Becca Mineral Blush

Today I will be reviewing two Becca products: the Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone and the Mineral Blush in the much-talked about Gypsy.

IMG_3890IMG_3891

I’ve been really into Becca products at the moment, I think it’s partly because Lisa Eldridge is a huge fan of the shimmering skin perfector (and I’m a huge fan of Lisa’s) and that it’s a mineral makeup line, which I love. Mineral products are much easier to blend and go on rather sheer for a no-fuss, fail-safe makeup look.

IMG_3894IMG_3892
IMG_3893The shimmering skin perfector ($66 for 5oml, from David Jones) comes in a pump bottle with a rubberised cap that has the Becca logo/medallion on top. I think this product is fairly expensive, but quite worth it at the same time as it’s a lot of product. A little goes a long way with liquid shimmer products so I can foresee this lasting a long time – even though the bottom of the bottle says only 9 months! I’ll have to use it every day then…

Packaging wise, I love it – it’s sleek and elegant, and looks great on my table top. Here are the swatches (concentrated and sheered out, on the back of my hand and on the inside of my wrist).

IMG_3897 IMG_3904

It can be worn under foundation all over the face for a truly radiant look, or can be applied on top of foundation at the certain planes of the face (cheekbones, cupid’s bow, browbone, inner corner of eyes) for a subtle, healthy glow.

Being water-based, it blends easily into the skin with fingers/brush/sponge, and lends a really beautiful and believable soft glow to the face. It is by far the best illuminator/highlighter I’ve tried because the shimmer particles are so small, it blends easily and the colour is right for my skin tone (not too white but not yellow either). A lot of other highlighters are really obvious and shiny – some even make me look greasy – and some have a distinct white or yellow cast, which looks unnatural.

However, this one in Moonstone is the perfect shade for me – it’s beige with slight pink undertones and is the epitome of the ‘lit from within’ look. I love it and will definitely repurchase.

The second product is the Becca Mineral Blush in Gypsy ($50 at David Jones), described as a ballerina pink on their website. To me, it is a fairly light pink with a gold sheen. The gold is actually much more obvious on the face than on the pan – it has a slightly pearly gold finish.

IMG_3905IMG_3906

As usual it comes in a rubberised compact with the Becca logo on the top. Inside, there’s a mirror and the product itself, which only lasts for 6 months!! I hardly ever hit pan on any blush within that time so I’m not sure how I’m going to use this one up, especially since there are so many other blushes I love!

IMG_3907

Anyway, back to it – it’s not a large pan by any means. In fact, it’s rather small, but I guess that makes it good for travel. It’s also fairly lightweight. IMG_3909
Gypsy applies very sheer on my skin. I am slightly tanned at the moment so it takes about 2-3 applications before I can see some colour, but on fairer skintones (Bobbi Brown 2/Mac NC15) it would probably show up a lot better. When tanned, I’m about Bobbi Brown 3.5/Mac NC25… I’m not sure of my exact MAC shade, actually but that’s just a guess.

I love the colour, it does suit me but I wish it would show up more on my cheeks without having to apply a few layers. On the bright side it applies extremely smoothly and blends easily. It has a noticeable golden sheen to it but I think it looks quite nice and glowy. Others may not like this effect though, particularly if you have large pores and oily skin, or just don’t like shimmer blushes.

It does last a long time though – I wore it for about 5 hours over Guerlain Lingerie de Peau, and it was faded at the 5 hour mark but I think because the Lingerie de Peau tends to absorb into the skin over time and that must fade the blush a bit.

All in all, it’s a great everyday blush that doesn’t compete with more dramatic eyes or lips, but I’ll have to wear it a few more times to see if I would repurchase.

Leave a Reply

