Chanel haul

My readers must know now I’m a huge fan of Chanel Beaute, but here’s another haul just to prove it! The reason why I love Chanel is because their products are always top notch quality, beautiful to look at, lovely to touch and always makes me look polished.

That’s not to say that I don’t love other brands too – Bobbi Brown and Lancome are some of my high end faves, and I like to have a good mix in my makeup bag.

Here are the items I bought in December:

  • Bronzing Makeup Base
  • Perfection Lumiere Foundation in B20
  • Hydra Beauty Gel Cream
  • Universal Pressed Powder in Peche
  • Joues Contraste in Ultra Rose
  • Eye shadow quad in Eclosion

IMG_3713 IMG_3712 IMG_3714

I absolutely love the bronzing base! It goes on really creamy and adds a healthy, sunkissed glow to the face that can be built up to a tanned glow. It’s not orange at all on me although it looks it in the pan. It’s best applied with a dense kabuki brush for an airbrushed finish, or a sponge, but I wouldn’t recommend your fingers – it can look splotchy that way.

Great as an all-over face colour, as a contour or as bronzer.

IMG_3715 IMG_3708 IMG_3710

The Hydra Gel Creme is nice as well – cooling and quickly absorbed. I’ve only used it three or four times so far as I’m trying to finish an SKII sample first but it can definitely sting if you have a sunburn or sun-sensitive skin. Also, I spent the longest time trying to figure out how to take off the lid. Eventually realised I had to tear off all the foil parts (see above) and then it was pretty easy to remove.

IMG_3716IMG_3718

Universal pressed powder is one of my must haves – I buy it every two years when it runs out (yes, that’s how long it lasts and I use it every day). It’s pretty sheer and doesn’t offer any colour coverage at all. It’s only a touch up powder that eliminates shine but it’s the best one I’ve seen as it doesn’t cake up my nose and it’s virtually impossible to put on too much. Also, it smells nice :)

IMG_3719

Next, Perfection Lumiere SPF 10, Chanel’s only foundation offering for long wear purposes. Most brands only really have one specifically labelled long wear foundation, but that doesn’t mean that the other ranges aren’t long wearing either (just means instead of lasting 12 hours, it lasts 6-8 hours).

Anyway, I’ve only used this once. I purchased this in Hong Kong and the makeup artist matched me a shade too light. I should have been B30 instead of B20, especially in summer, but hopefully it’ll sit better in winter. It’s definitely long wearing, a touch on the dry side but that doesn’t really bother me since I moisturise beforehand. Nothing to go ‘wow’ at and it’s not a HG foundation by any means but it’s still a nice addition to my collection.

(BTW, my fave foundation is Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation in Warm Beige)

IMG_3391 IMG_3395IMG_3402 IMG_3403IMG_3404

Next up is the eyeshadow quad in Eclosion. I was looking for a travel friendly, wearable neutral quad and thought this would fit the bill. Well, not quite – Bare Minerals or Urban Decay are probably still my first choices as they’re more pigmented – but Eclosion is still very lovely and super natural.

I mentioned in my previous post that there are differences between the USA and rest of world releases, and this is a case in point. The Asia edition of Eclosion clearly is not as pigmented as the USA edition, unfortunately. But on the bright side these are baked eyeshadows (instead of the regular ones sold in the US) so a) they don’t break when dropped, and b) you can use them wet or dry.

IMG_3399IMG_3400IMG_3401

Lastly here is Joues Contraste in Ultra Rose, an Asia/Australia-only edition. It looks horrifyingly bright in the pan, but when sheered out on the cheeks (see below) it looks totally natural. I use it as a ‘pop of colour’ blush rather than an everyday neutral, as I have heaps of those!

I think you could also add it to clear lipgloss to make a hot pink lippie, but I haven’t tried that yet!

IMG_3438IMG_3398 IMG_3397

Leave a Reply

