USA haul: Part 1

On my recent month long trip to America in November, I picked up a number of makeup things (actually, quite a lot of makeup things) from Sephora, Nordstrom and Walgreens/CVS.

Here’s what I bought day one in San Francisco – prices are in USD with the AUD price for comparison (note that 1 USD = 0.95 AUD).

  • Stila Snow Angel Colour Palette (limited edition) & Stay All Day waterproof mascara, $39 (amazing price! This retails in Australia for $79 at Mecca)
  • Obsessive Compulsive Pro Picks Lip Tar Set, $49 (not available in Australia)
  • Becca Beach Tint mini duo in Watermelon and Fig, $20 (retails in Australia for $39)
  • Bite Beauty Bite Size Discovery Set, $25 (not sold in Australia)
  • Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Blush in Quickie, $39 (not sold here)

IMG_1943

Close ups (apologies for the bad lighting):

IMG_1945

 

The Stila palette is really beautiful and contains 18 eyeshadows and 12 blushes. The eyeshadows are a mixture of matte and shimmery shades in wearable neutrals while the array of blushes are mostly natural shades with one ‘pop’ colour.

Eyeshadows: peace, love, gold, sleigh, cookie, dashing, eggnog, icicle, dance, merry, kitten, jingle, gingerbread, truffle, chestnut, cool, clove, fairy.

Blushes:  shimmery snow angel, shimmery coral, shimmery apricot, shimmery peach, shimmery pink, shimmery plum, matte pink, matte plum, matte berry, matte melon, matte clay, matte bronze.

I’m so glad that the eyeshadows include the shade kitten! I adore that shade but was reluctant to pay full price for a single eyeshadow. Overall the eyeshadows have great pigment payoff and I found I could even wear the shimmery olive shade all over the lid without looking too festive.

The blushes are great as well, but are too small for my brush to get in there and pick up product. As for the mascara, it’s a convenient travel size and has an extremely voluminising effect on my lashes but fails to live up to its name – it only wears for 3-4 hours before smudging and is certainly not waterproof. I tested it out at Disneyland and after a couple of hours and the Splash Mountain ride, it had transferred onto the skin under my eyes. :(

IMG_1944

The next products are the Obsessive Compulsive Lip Tars in Pretty Boy (super-rich fuchsia), Melange (terracotta neutral), Vintage (deep burgundy), Stalker (true blue based red), Grandma (classic coral).

All shades are incredibly pigmented – less than a drop is needed to cover the entire lip – and last a long, long time. They can be slightly drying on my already chapped lips but it’s not a problem for me since the colour payoff is so good. You do need a lip brush to apply it though (included in the set) as it can get messy using fingers. I like all shades except for Pretty Boy and Grandma as my skintone does not suit overly bright colours.

IMG_1948

Next, the Bite Beauty lipstick set (5 of them). They are super adorable – I don’t think I’ve seen such tiny lipsticks! They’re about as tall as my index finger. The colours are: Retsina (pale nude pink), Pomegranate (watermelon red), Shiraz (dusty rose), Fig (rose pink) & Musk (natural flesh toned pink).

The photos really don’t do them justice – they are really pigmented and moisturising (but not too slick). According to Bite Beauty, they are made with lip-nurturing natural and food-grade ingredients that are healthy enough to eat and do not contain synthetics, polybutene, or petroleum byproducts. Apparently, each lipstick contains the resveratrol equivalent of five glasses of red wine! Mmm…

My favourite shades are Shiraz and Musk because they’re so natural and give a ‘my lips but better’ type of effect. The box they come in is also super cute!!

IMG_1946IMG_1951

Next I have the MUFE HD creme microfinish blush in Quickie, a peachy pink shade reminiscent of NARS Orgasm without the glitter (and slightly pinkier). It’s one of the most long wearing blushes I’ve tried and the longest wearing cream blush I’ve tried. It dries very quickly (which makes blending in a little hard) and stays on all day.

Like with the OCC Lip Tars, you only need a tiny tiny bit to cover both cheeks. The pump does squirt out a tad too much though, it would be better in a pot so that I could control the amount. Overall a great product and I look forward to purchasing other shades.

Lastly, the Becca beach tint in Watermelon and Fig. Below is a picture of me wearing Fig on the lips and the cheeks.

IMG_1912

I usually have pretty chapped lips but as you can see the beach tint evens out my lip tone and eliminates dryness! I was also surprised at how long wearing it was! According to the website, the beach tint is “kiss-proof and water-resistant, it dries to a perfect, streak-free, non-greasy and non-drying finish”. It’s definitely water resistant but after 3-4 meals it finally wore off – pretty impressive I must say!

That’s all I purchased… in San Francisco!

Next up: my Sephora haul from Chicago!

 

Leave a Reply

