Product review: Ellis Faas

I’ve been eyeing the Ellis Faas Creamy Lips lipstick in L101 Ellis Red, for the longest time, so when I was in Myer today I thought I would gift it to myself as a well deserved Christmas present.

It didn’t hurt that I also had a $40 gift card, which meant that I only paid $12 for it! Yes, it cost $52, and yes I know that it retails for $34 on the Ellis Faas website. But they don’t ship here, and it was more or less an impulse decision at the time to buy it. Anyway, this is what it looks like:
Ellis faas ellis red creamy lips

It has small holes in the felt tip applicator where the product comes out, but it takes quite a few clicks for it to be dispensed the first time. It almost looks like blood in the snow when the red spots emerge – I believe this was Ellis’ intention. I read on her website that this shade of red is supposed to be the colour of blood so as to suit every skin tone.

Ellis Faas isn’t a well known brand in Australia yet, at least I don’t think so, but her line has intrigued me so far. This one looked great with my skin tone and I usually can’t wear blue-based reds.Wearing Ellis faas in ellis red

Here’s a before and after photo – the lipstick really picks up my blush colour and makes me look more awake for some reason.

Overall, I’m loving it but not sure if it’s something I’ll reach for everyday. I’m going to take it with me when I go overseas in 2 weeks, and I’ll see how much use I’ll get out of it.

Leave a Reply

