My winter skincare routine

There are so many blog posts (and youtube videos out there) on skincare routines, so I thought I’d share mine! For the most part, it has remained the same for the past 3-4 months with the exception of my cleanser, which I recently changed.

Once I get home from work, I take off my makeup with MAC’s Gently Off Eye & Lip Makeup Remover with a cotton pad. It works pretty well, but waterproof makeup is quite hard to get off (as expected). The good thing is it doesn’t sting the eyes, unlike some other makeup removers.

In the shower, I use Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser, concentrating on my eyelids where there is the most makeup. The bottle says that it removes light makeup, so if I’m wearing anything heavier, I use my Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Facial Cleanser. Once or twice a week, I use my Clarisonic Mia on the entire face. I would use it more often but the fact that it’s kept outside the shower acts as a disincentive ;) For those that aren’t familiar with the Clarisonic, it’s like an electric toothpaste but for your face (and gentler, of course).

Once a week (when I’m not using the Clarisonic), I use part one of the Mary Kay Time Wise Microdermabrasion Set as an exfoliator for the nose and lips. For lips, I alternate between the MK and the Smashbox Peppermint Lip Scrub – it smells and feels amazing!

Out of the shower, I apply my toner, T.N. Dickinson’s Witch Hazel, one of the gentlest and cheapest toners on the market. It smells a little gross but once it evaporates on the skin, the smell disappears. This is a new addition, too – before I purchased this, I wasn’t using a toner at all.

I wait a couple of minutes before putting on a pea-sized drop of Lancome Visionnaire Advanced Skin Corrector serum, waiting a couple more minutes to sink in before finally applying Shiseido Night Moisture Recharge. This cream is really, really hydrating, especially if I have a flaky nose. Perfect for winter.

I will probably change up my routine again once summer hits, as the cream will be too heavy for warm weather. I’ll post an updated blog post once that happens. Hope you enjoyed this skincare post – it’s not as lengthy as it sounds! Most of it occurs in the shower anyway, which saves time.

Take a look at my skincare guides here, too!

Pictures (taken myself and via Pinterest):

Leave a Reply

