Maybelline 24h colour tattoo

I know I’m a little late on board this train, but the Maybelline 24h colour tattoo cream eyeshadows have only just hit Australian shores. I’m so glad it’s available here at Priceline, finally! I went out and bought some last week in the following three shades:

Bold Gold

Tough as Taupe

Pure White

As you can see the colour payoff is incredibly pigmented, and goes on really smoothly. Tough as Taupe, in particular, has become my go-to shade for an easy, everyday look. It’s not glittery or shiny enough that it looks really obvious on the eyes, but still enough to look dressed up. Pure White, on the other hand, contains glitter particles that remind me of the Chanel spring/summer 2012 show where Karl Lagerfeld sent models down the catwalk in mermaid inspired outfits and pale makeup to match! Love it.

(Images via style.com)

The gold shade is also pretty although a tad too yellow for my skin tone (NC25, in case you were wondering!). I think it would look nicer on darker and more olive skin tones.

All in all, the staying power of this new range is pretty good. While I’ve never tested the 24 hour claim, having not been awake for that long, it does last a whole work day, from the moment I put it on with no primer at 7.30 am in the morning all the way until 6 pm in the evening. So that’s a solid 11.5 hours!

I tried going to the gym with the eyeshadows on, though, but unfortunately it gets dislodged/smudged. Nevertheless, it’s the only drugstore beauty buy that actually stays on the lids for a decent amount of time. The only cream eyeshadow I’ve seen better than this is the Bobbi Brown longwear cream eyeshadow, which really does NOT come off.

It retails for around AU$16 (correct me if I’m wrong), which is out of whack with the rest of the world as usual, but I don’t mind. My next step is to acquire some of the more matte shades in the range.

Leave a Reply

