Tag! Seven deadly sins of beauty

I’ve seen the ‘Seven deadly sins of beauty’ floating around youtube world for the past couple of weeks and it looks fun and I love makeup obsessively as it is, so I thought I’d try it out!

Images via Forever21 lookbook

Here are the questions… 

1. GREED: What is your most inexpensive beauty item? What is your most expensive?

Carmex lip balm

Hmm, my most inexpensive beauty item would probably be the Carmex lip balm (original formula) in a squeeze tube. I absolutely cannot live without this – I apply it ten times a day and it has this really nice soothing menthol feeling, and does wonders for chapped lips! It’s around $5.99 (in AUD) which seems pretty pricey for lipbalm but unfortunately that’s the regular price around here!

Image via Beautyheaven.com.au

Tip: Apply this lipbalm before beginning your makeup routine and when you’re ready to apply lip colour, your lips will be prepped and moisturised!

As for the second part of the question, like DulceCandy, I believe that it’s my Chanel skincare products. I have Eau Douceur, which is a makeup remover and toner in one that’s supposed to be anti-pollution ($59 I think), and Hydramax+ Active Moisture Mask, a nice creamy mask (around $59 I think as well).

Both are extremely expensive but the mask lasts quite a long time (you don’t need much) and is really hydrating. I totally recommend it, especially for long flights where you don’t want to wear a cloth mask but still want intense moisture (it goes on clear). It can be rubbed in afterwards which I love, and makes my skin feel/look so fresh and soft. The makeup remover, however, I don’t recommend so much. It gets used up so quickly and doesn’t seem to make a difference in my skin.

2. WRATH: What beauty products do you have a love/hate relationship with? What product has been the hardest to get?

YSL touche eclat

Hmm.. This one is tough. I either have products that I really love, or really hate- hardly in between. But if I had to pick it would probably be YSL Touche Eclat. The reason why I love it but hate it at the same time is because it’s too light as a concealer (I have 02 luminous ivory).

The problem is probably because I bought the wrong colour (there were only 01 and 02 shades at my drugstore)… but it looks like there are literally beams of light shining from under my eyes, and not in a good way! Also, when I click it, it takes a while for the product to flow out and I always end up with excess. :-( However, I do love it as a highlighter. I think it does a great job when applied to my browbone, cheekbones and cupid’s bow.

What product has been hardest to get? If by this the question means ‘to purchase/obtain’, then it’s got to be the Urban Decay Naked palette (the original). UD isn’t stocked ANYWHERE here in Australia but I was dying to get it, so during a trip to Singapore I popped into Sephora to buy it. It was sold out!! And severely overpriced, even after factoring in the exchange rate. I ended up buying it via beautybay.co.uk for around AU$55, which is pretty good although shipping was pricey. I also got a backup from a friend’s sister living in the UK (She brought it when she visited Australia several months later).

I hope UD hears this and starts shipping to Australia!!

3. GLUTTONY: What are your most delicious beauty products?

This is another tough one! I can’t say I want to eat any of my makeup products, but the DKNY Delicious (green apple) is probably the closest thing. It smells so fresh and reminds me of springtime and I could just drink it up!

4. SLOTH: What beauty product do you neglect, due to laziness?

Highlighter. It’s not an essential so I typically do not apply it when getting ready everyday. To me, having a good foundation and concealer is enough- I can’t be bothered going the extra step to highlight facial features. I can’t even be bothered mixing highlighter in with my foundation!

5. PRIDE: What beauty product gives you the most self confidence?

Eyeliner, hands down! It opens up my eyes and makes them look bigger and more awake. My fave is a black felt tip liner from Japanese brand Kate, a good runner up would be NYX Super Skinny marker just for ease of use and how pigmented they are. Most people say foundation, which would be my choice too except my skin’s pretty good so it’s not a real confidence booster (it helps though!).

6. LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in the opposite sex?

Random question! Probably the face??

7. ENVY: What items would you most like to receive as a gift?

Ooh! I love gifts, especially makeup-related ones! :-) There are so many!!

I’d love to get anything from Sephora really, since they don’t ship here. Particularly these three:

  • Tarte amazonian clay 12 hour blush
  • Bare Escentuals Ready eyeshadow palettes 8.0 (Looks so super elegant and pigmented, I really need to get my hands on these!)
  • Sigma Beauty Extravaganza brush set

I guess that wraps it up! Now all I can think of is getting makeup as gifts.. That probably won’t happen – most of my family and friends know I’m a makeup junkie so they’d probably leave the choosing up to me! A gift card would be nice too :-)

Until next time, xoxo!

Leave a Reply

