Review: Chanel Travel Makeup Palette Altitude

 

 

On my recent trip to Singapore and Hong Kong, I couldn’t help but pick up a few more Chanel items – when you’re at duty free and prices are significantly cheaper than at home, there’s no question about it: simply buy them! Well, it seemed simple then. Not so much when I looked at my credit card statements last month…

Anyway, I digress – here is one of the most exciting things that I got! I purchased the Chanel Travel Makeup Palette Altitude at Changi Airport as it was limited edition and I believe it may also only be an Asia-only release. It was sold out at the Hong Kong airport, would you believe?

IMG_3687IMG_3685

 

 

I can’t quite remember the exact price now but I think I paid SGD120 for it (correct me if I’m wrong) which is only AUD93. That’s pretty good value for something that’s limited edition and contains that many products.

The palette contains a complete look for face, lips and eyes:¬†five eyeshadows, two lip glosses, two lipsticks, one concealer, one powder foundation and one blush. I’m unsure of the shade names – the packaging was pretty unhelpful. It did come in a nice velvet pouch with a band around it to secure the palette, though, and also came with a mini mascara.

The palette also contains four applicators – one cute little fold out blush brush (really flat), two sponge tipped applicators and one double sided eyeshadow brush.

IMG_3688

My first impressions? Totally adorable, and very chic, as per usual. Thankfully it looks like the concealer/foundation are in my shade, although I haven’t tried them out yet. The colours are pretty wearable except for the sky blue eyeshadow in the top left corner. I don’t think I’ll be reaching for that shade very often…

IMG_3689IMG_3690

 

Eyeshadows and lippies look very pigmented and the bottom two eyeshadow shades are similar to their regular eyeshadow formulas (not the baked ones). The dark brown shade can even be used as an eyeliner or eyebrow colour, which is something I like in travel palettes.

As for the lipstick shades, I would have preferred a paler pink or nude type shade but I still think the brighter shades are wearable. The lip glosses are beautiful – I have a couple of glossimers and love them.

The blush doesn’t look like anything they have in their current line and is a cooler toned light pink blush with gold sparkles. Again, not my first choice in pink blushes (I prefer without shimmer and either in a dusty rose shade or those with some warmth behind the pink. Think Joues Contraste in Pink Explosion or Rose Petale). I think the shade they’ve included is supposed to have a brightening effect.

Overall, I do like it because it’s value for money and is an all-in-one kit. If I were to go on a short trip, say 2-3 days, I’ll definitely take this along. I’d probably just throw in an additional travel brush set, black gel eyeliner and a tinted moisturiser, and I’m good to go!

What are your thoughts on all-in-one palettes? Do they make you feel like travelling?

2 thoughts on “Review: Chanel Travel Makeup Palette Altitude

Leave a Reply

